So Cal Dreaming and Burda 7/2012 Inspiration

Before going back home from our Vegas trip, we decided to drive to Southern California for a weekend. It was refreshing to get away from the scorching desert weather.

While walking along the beaches of So Cal, I felt pure joy and gratitude that I was there, living in the moment. There is something healing about being near an ocean. We rarely experience that feeling living in the landlocked midwest.

Laguna beach, Southern California

Dana Point, Southern California

We also visited the Mission San Juan Capistrano, a historic Spanish mission in Orange county. It was soul lifting to walk through the mission and its 10 acres of gardens.

Over a week later, I am now back at home and struggling to be productive.

I really don’t feel like sewing or doing much of anything. I am just exhausted from the past few months of classes and then non-stop traveling.

My Burda Style July issue came in the mail today. I eagerly flipped through it hoping to be inspired. I also wanted to find a quick and easy project to ease myself back to reality.

Well, slim pickings this month. I was not crazy about the dropped waist styles featured in this issue. Many of the styles were downright hideous. For example…

Burda Dress July 2012 #111

After thumbing though the pages, I did flag a few designs for potential projects.

This vintage dress is cute. I don’t particularly care for the “cross your heart piping” though. Without the piping, it could be a lovely summer dress using my newly acquired lawn.

Burda Vintage Dress July 2012 #133

I also like this unisex shirt. I love that there are both men and women pattern sizes.

Burda Unisex Shirt July 2012 #132

This summer top is cute and easy to sew.

Burda blouse July 2012 #116

I revisited the featured dropped waist dresses. I was intrigued by this dress on second look. I am strangely attracted to the chiffon godets. I do like 1920’s style, even though I don’t think this is the best silhouette for me. Maybe in a different color…

Out of curiosity, I asked Mr. Dashing to have a look at the magazine and pick out any styles that he thought I should make.

“I think this one is really cool! You should make it!” he said of this number…

Burda Trousers July 2012 #128

Ack!!! What was he thinking?! Does he not notice the poorly placed keyhole opening? Or maybe this is why he likes it so much? Note to self: “He is not allowed to shop for clothing for me without my approval.” What do you think?

Hopefully your summer/winter (or whatever season it is in your part of the world) is going well and more productive!

All images are copyright their original owners and are being used for purposes of review.

About Javie

I am a scientist by training but an artist at heart. Currently going to grad school for more 'practical' training. I love to sew, cook and craft so this is my journal of my more artistic experiments.
This entry was posted in Burda, Sewing Inspiration, Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So Cal Dreaming and Burda 7/2012 Inspiration

  1. Lakaribane says:

    That sundress is at the top of my list WITH piping (it’s highly addictive, I find). And I’m going to make the blouse version of the Petite flapper dress/colorblock. I’m too short and curvy for that style but I can’t resist bias-cut garments. So, compromise…

    • Javie says:

      Ooh- Can’t wait to see your versions- I’m sure I’ll like it better then the pics in the magazine. I know what you mean about the flapper style. It’s cute but I am a rectangle on top and curvy in the bottom so the dropped waist hits me at the widest spot. Sigh.

  2. velosewer says:

    The sundress is my favourite.
    Maybe Mr Dashing can simply provide you with the funds to shop so you can purchase your perfect gift?

  3. yeah, um those pants are interesting. I think the only way to wear them would be over a body suit maybe, for me anyways. BTW I like the piping on the sundress – hey anything to up the oomph there as I’ve no curves at all. 🙂

    • Javie says:

      Heh heh- this actually reminds of a Project Runway episode where one of the (male) designers didn’t consider the wearability of some of the garments that he made.
      After I pointed out the hole in the pants, Mr Dashing did say that he didn’t notice it at first, he just thought it was cool, but “hey can’t you wear a long top to cover up the hole?”

  4. Pella says:

    Definitely the sundress is a winner.

  5. soisewedthis says:

    i’m hoping those pants are a swimsuit coverup for the beach, but personally i’d rather have the drawstring going around my waist than gathering as a keyhole down there. Love your photos at the top

Leave a comment