New Bias Cut Halter Dress!

Love my new dress! It also marks an end to months of unproductive sewing and creative fun time (I have been under a lot of stress lately!).

Kwik Sew 3308 Bias Cut Halter Dress

Of course, now that summer is over, I only have a few weeks to squeeze some wear out of it. I used Kwik Sew misses’ top pattern 3308 and made View “A”. The length was extended to make this bias cut halter dress.

Kwik Sew 3308 Pattern

The fabric was from Kirsty of Rocket Sews as part of the One Cool Thing/One Strange Thing sewing swap. The fabric was a hand-printed Australian aboriginal print fabric and I wanted to find just the right dress design for it.

I picked up the Kwik Sew 3308 pattern at the Pattern Review NYC weekend pattern swap and thought it would look cute done up in an ethnic print.

I still need to hem the dress. Because the length may grow over time due to the bias cut, I will hem it after a few days. I also need to add some buttons (still looking for the right one!).

Here is the back view.

Kwik Sew 3308 Back view of dress

Here are some pattern adjustments and tips I used to sew this dress:

1) Cut a small on top and graded to medium at the hip. Extended length by 15″ to create desired dress length.

2) Made sure I had enough fabric since this is cut on the bias. I was grateful to have enough to cut the dress. I did not have enough fabric to match the print though. It still turned out cute.

3) Experimented with various types of interfacing for the collar using a muslin. I did not want it to be too floppy nor too stiff.

4) Raised the armhole by 1-5/8″.

5) Took in side seam under arm by 1/2″ but 5″ under the armhole let seam back out for a comfortable fit.

6) Re-cut front and back facings to adjust for armhole changes. For the back facing, trimmed 1/8″ at arm to help keep the facing from showing when turning out the final piece.

7) Raised the back keyhole by 1-1/8″. Check to see if this causes any problems. I raised the keyhole too much initially and was not be able to get my head through the opening.

8) Steps 7 & 8 were a bit confusing at first. I followed the drawings and it worked out fine in the end. Be sure to fold the back of the dress so that it does not get caught in the seam while sewing the collar.

9) Hand slip-stitched the inside of the collar rather than stitching in the ditch.

10) Hung the dress for a few days before hemming to allow for any change in length.

I love this dress! It was an easy project and practically free!

About Javie

I am a scientist by training but an artist at heart. Currently going to grad school for more 'practical' training. I love to sew, cook and craft so this is my journal of my more artistic experiments.
This entry was posted in Kwik Sew, Pattern review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to New Bias Cut Halter Dress!

  1. yeayeayea! Very nice! Kwik Sew have such nice classic styles too. I’m so excited to see makes from the swap XD Good on you for getting back to some you time. Hope things have improved outta sight for you guys..

  2. velosewer says:

    Such a classic style in a wonderful print. It’s so stylish. Glad you’re back.

  3. Myra says:

    Wow what a great idea! This dress turned out perfect! I have this pattern and have not made anything from it yet. You’ve totally inspired me! I feel a new dress in my future too!

  4. prttynpnk says:

    Thats lovely- I love the fabric and pattern combination- it’s perfect! Can’t wait to see this one you….

  5. soisewedthis says:

    I love the fabric and that neckline!

  6. Jeyco says:

    Nice dress! Even though summer is over, you can still wear it with a cardigan. Run away from stress by doing what you love:)

    • Javie says:

      Thanks Jeyco! Great idea – I’ll get some extra weeks of wear with a cardigan. Sewing is a great stressbuster! It gives me something else to focus on.

  7. symondezyn says:

    Beautiful! I love it! :D I think the real thing is so much better than the pattern illustrations ^_^

  8. sewbussted says:

    A real winner!!! But, don’t put it away just yet, mix it with a jacket or a sweater. This time of year it’s difficult to know if the indoor environment will be too hot or too cold. You’ll have both ends covered ;)

  9. Wow this dress looks great and the print is perfect for it. I hope you did get some wear out of it before end of summer?

    I have been looking at that pattern wondering if I should buy it because love halter tops and they seem to suit my square’ish shoulders and lack of curves! So, many thank yous for the construction tips which I have duly bookmarked :o)

    PS am very glad the stress is reducing so you can sew again.

    • Javie says:

      Thanks! The weather turned cold so I didn’t get too much wear. I recommend the pattern though- it’s an easy sew and looks great on us rectangular figures. I love how it shows off your shoulders and gives the appearance of curves!

Leave a Reply

